Apple’s iPhone, iPad, and Patent Searching

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

[tweetmeme source=”Intellogist” only_single=false]

Earlier this week nary an Internet patron could glean their RSS feeds in peace when the iPhone 4 news stampede trampled Applephiles and Applephobics alike. Coverage was so rampant that I even thought about getting one, stopping only by slapping myself on the wrist and remembering that I’m still “in contract” to a non-Apple affiliated wireless provider.

Then I started thinking of ways to justify the purchase of an iPad. Why…it has all the benefits of the operating system and gazillions of apps that I need so desparately…and…and…I bet I could do some work on it. I mean sure there must be a couple of patent searching related apps that I need to check out for my job, right? Plus, I wouldn’t have to sign a data contract, I could just use the wi-fi model… Then I set out to confabulate and justify the lie to myself, and here’s what I found. Prior art searching apps do exist!

If you know of any I should use to justify my all too inevitable purchase, let me know in the comments. Here are a couple of neat ones I found:

Scopus Alerts (Lite) – This app was developed by Elsevier to serve as a mobile companion to Scopus, gives users freedom to search on the go according to the company:

gives iPhone users the ability to find and display abstracts and reference information from the Scopus database, which covers 18,000 journals produced by more than 5,000 publishers worldwide

The app is free of charge for existing Scopus customers, and will be followed by additional mobile apps, such as a ScienceDirect app, which are now in development.

ChemMobi – This app was written by James Jack from Symyx, and allows users to search both Symyx’s Discovery Gate and ChemSpider’s web services. For more info on this free app, see the ChemSpider’s Blog on the subject.

Do you think either of these apps would help your productivity? Do you know of any other cool patent related apps for iPhone, iPad, or any other mobile platform? Do you even want mobile patent apps? I’m really eager to hear your thoughts, so let us know in the comments below.

Like This!

Patent Analysis from Landon IP

This post was contributed by Intellogist Team member Chris Jagalla.

3 Responses

  1. Thanks for pointing out that article rok, it’s a great resource developed by Mikk; he’s a patent superstar if I ever saw one! Looks like he doesn’t have the two I covered, but there are plenty more to check out.

  2. […] abstract searching on an impressive patent database. This isn’t the first time we’ve covered mobile apps, but I can say now that this is the most impressive one I’ve come across so far. Read on to […]

Leave a Reply

