Using highlighting for lightning-fast search

Hello all! We’re still buried under snow here in the DC area, but I’m nice and cozy with a mug of cocoa. I wanted to post a short update today about a common problem that afflicts our patent searching efforts – the need for (and sometimes the lack of) effective keyword highlighting. There are lots of nice commercial products out there that offer very fancy keyword highlighting (e.g. QPAT and PatBase) , but what do you do when you happen to be searching, say, the Net, or a legacy product which doesn’t offer multi-colored, user-defined keyword highlighting options? (I’m looking at you, MicroPatent).

A friend of mine came by my desk yesterday with this very dilemma, and the solution I had for him was to download the Google Toolbar, which comes with a pretty nice multicolored highlighting function that you use by typing the keywords you want to highlight into the search bar. However, the Toolbar has some downsides – I have to remember to turn it off when I don’t need it, otherwise it makes my browsing super-slow through constant requests back to the Google mother ship (or so my IT guy tells me).

Are there any other searchers out there with a better solution?

Patent Searches from Landon IP

This post was contributed by Intellogist team member Kristin Whitman.

2 Responses

  1. For all who still using vista, there is a software called Hilitext, its easy to use and is very handy. Do try it out.

    Cheers,
    Bala

  2. Thanks for the note, Bala! I appreciate the tip. For those interested in checking out Hilitext, I think I’ve found the developer’s website here:

    http://www.fanix.com/hilitext.html

    There appears to be a free trial of the product available from the developer.

    Thanks again!
    Kristin

Leave a Reply

